Tell us about your visit:
Review submitted by Claire from Cork, ireland (Submitted: 20 May 2013)
The property was perfect for me and my 3 friends. It is good value for money, the pool was fantastic to have and the dining area with the covered terrace was perfect. Would definetly book it again for a group.
Review submitted by Nancy from Milton Keynes (Submitted: 30 Apr 2013)
Very modern home from home property . The location was excellent glad we did not hire a car as the local bus services was very adequate. The only downside no Internet or wifi this is a must for the modern world. Other friends staying on the island all had this in their respective properties.We could of done with the cleaner coming in more than once. The tv seemed to be mainly USA output nothing about Barbados !! More choice in channels ie sports channels would also be nice even if we had to pay extra. The mobile phone was a godsend what a good idea very useful. With all the notices around the property we were very concerned about lighting air conditioning and all electrical appliances in how much electricity we have used in regards to the return of our deposit , as we felt a bit uneasy during our stay. Final summary a very comfortable worthwhile holiday accommodation and would definitely return .
Review submitted by Rich from Walkerton (Submitted: 1 Jan 2013)
We have just returned from two weeks at 19a and we had an excellent time. The villa met all our expectations and we were very comfortable and felt very safe. We used the safe in the room but didnt bother with the security system. Janice was very friendly and attentive and went out of her way to accomodate our requests. We rented a car for the trip however the villa is close enought to the main road that you can easily grab a van or bus. The beach is also within walking distance (10 minutes) and the pool is a nice way to cool off after the walk back. We were concerned when booking that things would be a bit noisy with neighbours in 19b but we were not disturbed at all. It would be nice if there were some beach towels and face cloths but other than that we had everything we needed.I would recommend this property to anyone and would return in a heartbeat. Once again, thank you Janice for your hospitality.
Review submitted by graham from huddersfield (Submitted: 4 Dec 2012)
Great properties , we rented both 19a and 19b for 10 adults and had everything we needed for our 2 week stay , the pool was especially needed to cool down . The mobile phone was another nice touch as it was very much cheaper to phone the uk to a landline no. . would definately go back to these houses ,nice quiet area and Janice the property manager was on hand for any help required .
Review submitted by richard from winchester (Submitted: 8 Jun 2012)
this was our 7th time in barbados and chose a house instead of going to a hotel, it was a great decision it lies between bridgetown and oistins just off the main road in a lovely neighborhood , it was a very nice area, janice who looks after the property was really helpful and kept in touch as her garden backs onto this houses garden. the price we paid was fantastic all the bedrooms have aircon which you need but would of liked aircon downstairs but not that much of an issue as all come with ceiling fans,it comes with all mod cons and cable tv but only the basic package but hey your on holiday so no need for the full package, it has a safe in the bedroom and the house has a alarm so you can go out and not worry, the pool was not that big and only 4-5 feet deep but it kept the kids occupied when at the house, also theres 6 sun loungers which was plenty for our party. if you want go to the beech it is a 5 min walk away but we choose to go to acra beech which if you catch a zr 11 cab will take 10 min but in our opinion its the best beach as if you have children there are lifegaurds on duty all day and for grown ups you get some decent waves. oistins fishfry is a must as you get a great meal and some great music.We hope to be going again in november and will be booking this house again. so once again if you have kids or not this is must house and you will not be disappointed.
Review submitted by Wayne from Halifax,Nova Scotia (Submitted: 2 Apr 2012)
We were very pleased with this property The pool was a great asset esspecially for younger ones.We had our 6 year old grand daughter
with us for 10 days.The local transit service was a big hit with us as it gave us opportunities to interact with the wonderful Bajans.Your property manager Janice was very competent and professional.Just a few house keeping items for 19A.A replacement coffee maker is needed as well as a knife sharpener and finally a working can opener.Thanks for the use of this excellent vacation residence!!!!!!
Review submitted by Kim from Neasden (Submitted: 16 Sep 2011)
The property was good value for money. Slightly disappointed with the some details, lack of bag bags and toilet rolls. Having stayed in self catering apartments in Barbados, these provisions were provided and on cleaning days were replenished. Overall the house is ideal if you have children, the pool keeps them occuppied. The house is not to far from the main road to catch the number 11 ZR bus in either direction to Oistins or Bridgetown. Supermarket is just up the road, but you will need to take a taxi on the return journey if you have quite a bit to carry back (15 bds).
If you are driving, then the house if in a good area, if your not driving and your going out at night, its a taxi job home (between 15 - 20 bds) depending where you get the taxi from.
Bedrooms have air con which is great when you need to cool down.
Enjoyed my stay and would recommend this house to my friends.
Review submitted by Crawfords from Charlotte, NC (Submitted: 17 Jul 2011)
We had seen the property from afar on previous visits and were intrigued, so we rented and were very pleased.
The two issues we had, that made us rate it Good and not Excellent - First: the initial response from the property manager on hand. She was not easy to get a hold of, and subsequently requested we call her at another number than the one listed - so that should be updat ed for future guests.
Second - the place had been cleaned but was not clean when we arrived. We brought it to the attention of the property manager before we left and she agreed the cleaners used had not been thorough, but we had to clean it ourselves as they dont provide a cleaning service if youre staying only one week, just before you arrive and after you leave.
Aside from these two things, which were mild irritants, we had a great time. The location is perfect, close to Oistins Fish Market, 5 minutes walk from beautiful beaches and in a neighborhod filled with kind,caring and pleasant locals. We will definitely rent here again if its available.
Review submitted by stephanie from London (Submitted: 6 Dec 2010)
Despite the positive reviews listed, we were apprehensive as it was our 1st time renting privately, in Barbados.
We need not have worried the property exceeded expectations and was designed with an attention to detail often only applied to living space, rarely found in guest properties.
There are 3 bedrooms 2 twin rooms (one generous in size and the other slightly more compact but still adequate) and one huge double room with en suite.
There is generous space in all communal areas and enough room for some privacy if required.
The outdoor space with pool is a luxury that will keep you at the property too often, if you are not careful!
There are no negatives relating to the property but the only thing that I would mention is that the lighting in the bedrooms is minimal and it can be very dark if you intend to use the vanity tables in the bedrooms as opposed to the bathroom.
Also, in relation to the maintenance of the property, the cleaner will only change the bedding and complete a quick clean of the bathrooms there is no complete cleaning service provided during the stay so if you are used to not having to clean while on holiday, this may be a drawback.
We found it simple yet luxurious self catering accommodation and this was not a problem.
Would absolutely recommend these houses for a holiday and will definitely consider if I return to Barbados.
If you are in any doubt about 19a & 19b fairholme.....ignore them. Well worth a visit!
Review submitted by Damitria from Church Hill, MD (Submitted: 18 Nov 2010)
The place was absolutely beautiful. We had a great time. Would definitely stay there again!!
Review submitted by Valerie from letchworth (Submitted: 23 Sep 2010)
found the property better than expected, very happy with all the facilities. will definatly be booking up for next year.
Review submitted by Parita from Essex (Submitted: 12 Aug 2010)
The only issue I found was that the local dogs would start barking at around 5.30 every morning, Other than that, the property was great and I would recommend to others. Great location.
Review submitted by Lucia from Leeds (Submitted: 3 Aug 2010)
Home from Home. Great place to stay with everying you ever need.
Review submitted by robert from bridgwater (Submitted: 6 Jun 2010)
We were very pleased with the property, it could do with a fan in the outside eating area as it gets very hot in the evenings.
It could do with a teapot.
We were very disapointed with the breakages deposit, if you dont break anything you dont get it back, so why do you call it a deposit? We have payed it twice as we extend it to 10 days.
Thank you for your comments which we will take on board. With regard to the breakage deposit, When you made your booking you had the choice to pay a £200 deposit which is fully refundable if there are no breakages OR a non-refundable waiver of £25. You chose the non-refundable waiver option which was clearly stated in the terms and conditions and on your invoice. We no longer offer the waiver option.
Review submitted by karl from bristol (Submitted: 4 Mar 2010)
Great property in an ideal location and exactly as described on website. I would not hestitate to use this property again.
Review submitted by Susan from Ipswich (Submitted: 7 Jan 2010)
We loved this house - bright, modern and clean and very well equipped. The remote controlled air conditioning in the bedrooms is brilliant.
We also thought the location was perfect for us - Maxwell beach is lovely and we liked the fact that this area is close to Oistens and The Gap but not nearly as busy as further up the west coast. Rachel, the lady who looks after the house, was very helpful.
Fantastic holiday - would definitely recommend it. My only less positive note is not connected with the house itself, but I would suggest that light sleepers should bring earplugs as the neighbourhood dogs are extremely vociferous!
Review submitted by JACKIE from CARSHALTON (Submitted: 18 Aug 2009)
LOVELY PROPERTY,GREAT LOCATION.WOULD RECOMMEND. EVERYTHING YOU COULD WISH FOR IN THE HOUSE.VERY CLEAN AND ALL MOD CONS.
LOTS TO DO IN BARBADOS.WE NEVER WANTED TO RETURN HOME. WE WERE WORRIED ABOUT THE WEATHER AS IT WAS RAINY SEASON BUT WE HAD BRLLIANT SUNSHINE ONLY THE OCCASIONAL LIQUID SUNSHINE.
IT WAS LOVELY TO HAVE THE SWIMMING POOL TOO.
Review submitted by Nicole from london (Submitted: 16 Jul 2009)
We flew to barbados for a family wedding and found it hard to find somewhere that accomodated the 10 of us without being separated & ontop each other fairholme gardens was very ideal nice quiet area, spacious & clean would stay there again when travelling back to barbados even without the crowd, excellent
Review submitted by Emma from Ipswich (Submitted: 10 Apr 2009)
Just back from another lovely holiday in this Villa. It has everything that you could ask for. Its in a quiet location with the beach, bars and shops just a short walk. It is the second time we have stayed here and we have already planned another vist.
Review submitted by Victoria from Bath (Submitted: 4 Mar 2009)
Exactly as described. We loved living in the bajan community though the dogs in the neighbourhood barked all night every night (not the fault of the property!). Would recommend the addition of a washing basket to carry out wet laundry to the clothes line and we were rather puzzled why the property was not servced half way through our two week stay - no change of bed linen or towels. Also suggest optional hire of beach/pool towels - as a family of 4, it was too much to carry our own out and so we had to buy them. Overall, loved the house, its location and facilities. Thank you.
Review submitted by Ian from Thame (Submitted: 8 Dec 2008)
The property was excellent and if anything undersold on the advert! :-) It had everything you needed right down to Setanta Sports!!! The house was well positioned in between Oistins & the Gap with all amenities close by (I would however recommend renting a moke or car though for ease of getting around the Island & access to all the wonderful beaches), but overall I would give this accommodation a 10/10.
Review submitted by Emma from Ipswich (Submitted: 2 Nov 2008)
This house is excellently situated for all amenties and exceeded our expectations. The photo gallery just doesnt do it justice. We found mrs brown very accomodating with everything we asked for. Overall a very enjoyable place to spend a holiday. We will be back!!!!!!!!
Review submitted by Ruth from North Little Rock (Submitted: 2 Sep 2008)
Nice property with all modern conveniences. The pool was lovely also. The housekeeping service did not occur as advertised but apart from that we were very happy with the accommodation. We did not use the cell phone as there were no minutes on it when we arrived and we had our own mobile phone. Thank you for a lovely holiday!
Review submitted by JACKIE from LARNE (Submitted: 3 Aug 2008)
Overall my family and I enjoyed our stay at 19a Fairholme Gardens. The house lived up to our expectations, as it was described accurately on the Internet. Although the house had no air-conditioning downstairs, this at times caused the living area to become uncomfortably warm. We found ourselves having to retire to our bedrooms to cool down in the afternoons. Unfortunately we did not receive the indoor cleaning service, which had been promised. Apart from these few minor problems we found the house was well situated for local amenities, and was within walking distance to the beach. All in all this property would be suitable for a family. A hire car was definitely an advantage. I would recommend this property to friends and family, and would not hesitate to stay at this property in the future.
Review submitted by Graham from Kendal (Submitted: 23 Jun 2008)
Really nice property and great location, would definitely stay there again.
Review submitted by neil from farnborough (Submitted: 4 May 2008)
this place was excellent for our family holiday and was enjoyed by all
Review submitted by Linda from Wirral (Submitted: 19 Feb 2008)
Very well equipped spacious property with everything you need for a family holiday. Pool not very big but perfect for children and for cooling off! Good location handy for public transport, supermarkets, banks & nightlife. Highly recommend Oistins fish fry on Friday night. Go early for dinner and join in the "street party" after. Only downside, noisy dogs next door which bark everytime somebody walks past but we got used to them! All in all great value property which I would definately recommend.
Review submitted by Moya from Weybridge (Submitted: 20 Dec 2007)
Strongly recommend this property. If you are debating whether to do for a resort or property rental, I would strongly recommend a house for its flexiblity and space.
Our 18 month old had a wonderful time too.